top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Moser

The Bandhas

The Bandhas are three energetic locks or "seals" used in traditional yoga practice to regulate and direct the flow of prana (life force energy) throughout the body. The three bandhas are Mula Bandha, Uddiyana Bandha, and Jalandhara Bandha.

  1. Mula Bandha: Mula Bandha is the root lock, located at the base of the pelvis. It involves the contraction of the muscles of the pelvic floor and the lower abdomen, which helps to strengthen the core and stabilize the body. Mula Bandha is said to help control the flow of energy through the lower chakras and improve digestion and elimination.

  2. Uddiyana Bandha: Uddiyana Bandha is the abdominal lock, located in the upper abdomen. It involves the lifting and drawing in of the diaphragm and abdominal muscles, creating a hollowing effect in the lower abdomen. Uddiyana Bandha is said to stimulate the digestive organs, improve breathing, and help to release tension and stagnant energy in the body.

  3. Jalandhara Bandha: Jalandhara Bandha is the throat lock, located at the base of the throat. It involves the contraction of the muscles of the throat and the drawing back of the chin, creating a subtle compression of the neck. Jalandhara Bandha is said to help stimulate the thyroid gland and improve the functioning of the respiratory and digestive systems.

The practice of the Bandhas can help to deepen and enhance one's yoga practice by increasing awareness and control of the flow of prana within the body. However, it is important to learn and practice the Bandhas under the guidance of a qualified yoga teacher, as improper practice can lead to injury or discomfort.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page