top of page
  • Writer's pictureLaura Moser

The Gunas

The Gunas are a concept in Hindu philosophy that describe the three fundamental qualities or attributes of nature, consciousness, and the human psyche. The three Gunas are Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas.

  1. Sattva: The quality of purity, harmony, and balance. It represents the higher nature and is associated with knowledge, wisdom, and enlightenment. A person with a predominant Sattva Guna is characterized by serenity, clarity, and peace of mind.

  2. Rajas: The quality of activity, passion, and restlessness. It represents the middle nature and is associated with action, ambition, and desire. A person with a predominant Rajas Guna is characterized by energy, drive, and creativity.

  3. Tamas: The quality of inertia, darkness, and ignorance. It represents the lower nature and is associated with laziness, dullness, and confusion. A person with a predominant Tamas Guna is characterized by lethargy, inertia, and ignorance.

According to Hindu philosophy, all living beings possess a combination of these three Gunas, with one or two of them being dominant. The aim of spiritual practice is to cultivate the Sattva Guna and transcend the influence of Rajas and Tamas, leading to a state of pure consciousness and self-realization.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page